Rome Day III




Colosseum

Originally uploaded by The Toze

I got an early start and decided to do the open air bus. I got off at the third stop, the Collosseum at around 9:15 a.m. and then was in the Collosseum until 11:00 a.m. and the Roman Forum from 12:00 – 2:00 p.m. I had been planning on making it to three other monuments that day, the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps.

I got back on the bus and thought I would get off at stop six and walk to Pantheon and make my way towards the Trevi Fountain and the finish at the Spanish Steps. But they never stopped at stop 6. I asked the woman about it and she said, “Yes we did in a very snotty tone.” Liar, they did not, because there was no one to pick up.

But it worked out, I got off at Trevi Fountain, it was awash with tourists, but beautiful and then there was a little pathway to the Pantheon. What I first thought was the Pantheon was a huge disappointment, thank goodness it wasn’t actually it. The Pantheon is also beautiful but awash with tourists. It was a pagan temple converted to a Christian temple. After the Pantheon, I had to make my way past the Trevi Foundatain again. On my way back I tripped on a cobblestone and sent crashing to the ground, these two very nice Italian women helped me up, but man I was embarrassed. I basically tripped over nothing. I was going to call it a day, saying to myself, “If you go to the Spanish Steps you’ll be over doing it.” But I saw the sign for the Spanish Steps and had to go. They were beautiful too, but also infested with tourists. I didn’t climb them that would have been really overdoing it.

I limped back to the bus stop from the Spanish Steps and was very close to the Termini Station where I had started this morning when I saw a vendor selling bags. I needed a bag that I could fill with ham and cheese to take back to Iraq. So I limped over there and paid 5 Euros for the perfect bag. Then I limped back to the hostel.

Trying to decided whether or not to limp out to a recommend restaurant for dinner.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rome Day III

  1. Martine C says:

    Hello Tiana
    I read yours misadventures with pleasure and smile from France.
    Roma is a beautiful city I visited on 2006.We spent 3 days to walk and walk to see all we could!
    Love from all yours french friends.

Leave a Reply

