It’s Raining in Basra

. . . the compound’s a mess, (sing along to the tune of “It’s Raining on Prom Night” from Grease) It’s running all over my the boys in military dress . . .over you raining, oww ohhh rain from the sky, over you raining, ooo ooo tears from my eyes . . .

It was a torrential downpour this morning and no I’m not talking about my shower. It was raining so hard on the tin roof of the trailer that we had to shout to be heard — the noise was deafening.

Getting into a routine. Crawl out of bed barely in time to make breakfast by 8:00 a.m. After breakfast go to the office and wait for someone to arrive to let me in, they haven’t given me keys yet. Lunch at noon. Back to the office from 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Work out for an hour and a half, I’m up to an hour on the elliptical and 30 minutes on the treadmill. I was having difficulties with treadmill the first speed was too slow and the next speed was too fast I couldn’t keep up and almost got zipped off, but I finally figured it out.

Although the elections were conducted without a major attack, Iraq is still under curfew. Today there is a sale at NAFI which is the base mini-market, it is run by British contractors so they are preparing for the pull-out and the American take-over.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

