The Workout

We have a gym on the compound, the weights are old and rusty, none of the bikes work, one out of three treadmills work and the elliptical feels like it might give up the ghost any minute. The military has a better gym that I will be able to use once I have clearance, but you have to have a flak jacket and a helmet to get in. Besides it is so easy just to walk to the little gym here.

It is one of the worst smelling gyms that I have ever been in, at least it was when I first saw it on my tour, but I guess I’ve gotten used to it. I usually leave the office at 5:00 p.m. Back to the hootch, change into my workout clothes and then I do the elliptical for an hour and the treadmill for 30 minutes. But yesterday some Brit was on the elliptical so I reversed it just for a change, an hour and five minutes on the treadmill and 30 minutes on the elliptical.

I keep running into the same people at the gym and we’ve started trading hellos, so I may make some friends yet. I don’t know anyone’s names yet, but there are four guys I see regularly at the gym, one older bald man who I fight for grapes with and we tease each other about it; another older man with a full head of hair who I always greet and then this other guy who was really friendly and acted like he knew me, but I didn’t remember ever meeting him. I also greet two of the Bangladeshis that work in the DFAC (dining hall) Ali and Hassan.

Yesterday I had two big deviations from the routine, switching up the elliptical and the treadmill times and instead of watching “Angel” I watched “The Client” and what I think was “The Bride of Frankenstein” with Robert De Niro and Helena Bonham Carter.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

