Incoming Direct Fire

Last night I was in the middle of my workout, plodding along on the treadmill, when the gentleman who I was sharing the gym with stopped what he was doing and went to the door and listened.
“What is it?” I asked. “The IDF alarm, I think,” he replied. No one seemed to be responding to it, there was no flurry of activity, no running towards bunkers, nothing really. “Should I drop to the ground?” I asked. He smiled at me and said, “No.” He had been a Sergeant Major in the Welsh Guard, they have an infantry, but they are also charged with guarding Buckingham Palace and the queen. I figured he knew what he was talking about so I continued to exercise.

The Welsh Guard

The Welsh Guard

“How come no one responded I asked him. He told me that as soon as an IDF leaves the ground or is shot it’s detected and it can land anywhere on the base. “People don’t normally react until they hear the crash,” he told me. “If we would have heard a crash then you would have seen some activity.” He also told me that if its headed for you it’s hard to avoid. “So if it had hit here, on the gym we would have been pretty much toast?” “Yep,” he replied.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

