Still here.

I’m still in the same routine, but last week we started Arabic on Monday. It’s stuff I’ve already learned, but the practice is good.

I have been dropping some weight through my exercise, but this week have a sore throat and possibly a lung infection. I tried to see a doctor yesterday, but I went to the British hospital and they wouldn’t see me, they sent me to the American clinic. When I got the American clinic they asked me my nationality and when I said American, the woman said, “You’ll want to see the American doctor.” Hmmmmm, I don’t think there is a huge difference between the British human body and the American human body, but maybe they know something I don’t know. So after all that I didn’t get to see the doctor because they don’t see patients on Sunday; however the medic gave me some medication which took away the pain in my throat and told me to come back on Monday.

Lately in the gym there have been a lot of Iraqis and it seems a little bit like they are coming to check me out because they don’t really lift weights. I work out in shorts and a sleeveless t-shirt which is like being naked here, but before Saturday it was mainly Western men in the gym, but this Saturday there was a whole influx of Iraqis. One got on the treadmill and went for about 10 minutes, about 5 others came in, looked around hefted a few weights and then left, except this one guy, who went through a really odd weight routine. His form was terrible and I know he didn’t really know what he was doing, but there was no way as a female I was going to correct him. It really became evident that he had no clue, when he picked up the weight collars and started exercising his hands with them. I just put my head down and chuckled to myself. He made sure he was working out directly in front of me the entire time. (Big eye roll here.)

The mornings have gotten even noisier, but the camp manager has promised to move me as soon as there is space available in a quieter part of the camp. My mate Will got promoted to team leader and I continue to hang out with him and Russ, both Brits, Russ does great imitations of me, side-splitting funny. My colleague Java refers to Will and Russ as Will and Grace.

This week we start a Train the Trainer course, we are teaching our MC Mobilizers how to be good trainers. The American trainer who is supposed to do the training is not arriving until noon today, so I will be covering the morning material with my colleague Roland. It’s a good thing that I’ve been working out because I can barely get into my suit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still here.

  1. Kari Dean says:

    Hey chica!
    Sorry to hear you’ve been feeling under the weather!! Get better soon!
    Love K

Leave a Reply

