Cambodia

From my hotel window

From my hotel window

I arrived in Cambodia last night at 8:25 p.m. all I wanted to do was get to my hotel and crawl into bed. The driver was at the airport to meet me, but when we got to the hotel the owner had let a guest stay an extra night and didn’t have any more air conditioned rooms. So she offered me a room with a fan but I knew I wanted air conditioning. So she sent me to a friend’s hotel. She did ask if I wanted to come back the following night, but I told her I wasn’t interested in jumping around.

After killing myself in R & R in Rome I decided to take it easy so I woke up at 6:00 a.m. and the power was off so I went back to bed. I woke up at 8:00 a.m. and the power was still off, called the front desk and it turns out the power was switched, so they fixed it, I turned on the air conditioning and went back to bed until 11:20 a.m. I was still responsible for the weekly report so I had breakfast spent 15 minutes incorporating my bosses edits and then set out to find this shop a friend had told me about.

Tabitha is an NGO and it sells handicrafts made by Cambodian women. I hired a Tuk Tuk for the afternoon and we got to the address and it wasn’t there. So we called the phone number, went to an internet cafe and spent about an hour and half looking for it. Finally I had the driver go to the sport and just drive a little bit, it was one block over and closed. So I headed for a massage.

I had an hour and 20 minutes massage from this petite little Cambodian girl, and she beat the crap out of me but man it was good I would highly recommend it. It was 12 bucks at:

Hifar Massage Therapy
142Eo11 St. 172
Phnom Pehn

The mistake I made was trying to get my hair trimmed. I told her I just wanted a trim and in the back she started whacking away at it. She ended up not taking very much off the back but a inch off the front so my hair in front is much shorter. It looks a little bit funny but it will grow out. So I guess I have to go back to only having my hair cut once a year.

I’m staying at Angfkor International Hotel, it is $20 a night, the rooms are clean and you can get air conditioned ones which I highly recommend. The lobby where you can get internet is not air conditioned, but it has a decent restaurant and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The address is

#38-50, St. 148 Phsar Kandal
Phnom Penh
e-mail angkorhotel@online.com.kh

Tonight I’m headed out to a restaurant and then to bed early, my driver is picking me up at 8:00 a.m. tomorrow to visit the killing fields.

I’m staying at

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cambodia

  1. alex jamison says:

    glad your having a nice time tiana. Makig the most of your vacation. It sounds like a really nice place. Hope you have a good time at the killing fields ,that will be really interesting.
    Well see you soon . Take Care.
    alex xx

Leave a Reply

