Elections, governance and in the dark

I have spent all week, all day, every day in a conference learning Participatory Planning Methods with the governance group.  The idea is to learn methods to lead government and community planning activities.  The workshop has been very helpful.  On the other hand,  I was asked to do a presentation on M & E some of my colleagues used it as an opportunity to challenge me, it felt like they were trying to belittle me.   Even though I made it through it didn’t make me feel good about the workshop nor the future of the program.

On Thursday, the power went out at the guesthouse, I woke up at 4:00 a.m. thinking why the heck did my housemates leave all the lights on.  It turns out they didn’t know which ones were on, so I turned them all on, restarted the laundry and went back to bed. When I woke up there was still no power, when I came home from the workshop there was still no power and when I woke up on Saturday morning still no power.

I’m currently in Nairobi waiting for my permanent stay visa for Sudan, or the election results to be announced.  Once  the election results are announced I can travel to Juba to meet with USAID and then Upper Nile and Abyei again.  Most likely I’ll be here until after my birthday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

