Last night I had the strangest dream . . .

No I was not in a little red row boat to China although I did have to get my laundry clean.  I woke up around 3:00 a.m. in the morning; I dreamed my plane crashed in the water, it started with the plane being in the water, nose down, it appeared that I was in the back and everyone I could see was swimming towards the back exit, which was like a trap door out of the butt of the plane, I remember trying to swim towards it and then I was floating on top of the water face down, the next thing I knew I was hysterical in a rescue boat.  I saw a black man in his suit and tie, not wet at all and I said, “How did you get out of the plane?”

“I came out the front,” he said. 

I remember that the nose of the plane was down in the water while the butt was up.  The rescue workers told me I was one of the few they pulled out of the water.  Obviously I watched The Titantic recently.  But then the scene changed, the only thing that didn’t change was the fact that I was seriously crying.  And then, I woke up.

I know that to dream of a plane crashing, means you feel your life is out of control, but I didn’t actually dream of a plane crashing, I started my dream after the crash.  Actually the dream interpretation web site states that “To dream that a plane crashes, signifies that you have set overly high and unrealistic goals for yourself. You are in danger of having those goals come crashing down. Alternatively, the crashing airplane represents your lack of confidence, self-defeating attitude and self-doubt. You do not believe in your own ability to achieve those goals. Loss of power and uncertainty in achieving your goals are also signified.”  O.K. so what’s new, I always set overy high and unrealistic goals for myself. But if I survive the plane crash what does that mean?  Maybe it is significant of the fact, that I set unrealistic goals for myself which everyone around me doesn’t think I’m going to acheive?

So then because I was under water in my dream for a little while I looked up water and it said: “To dream that you are underwater, suggests that you are being overcome with emotions and are in over your head regarding some situation.  You need to gain greater control of your life.” Well that’s not really a newsflash either. I’ve been over-my-head since I arrived in Sudan.

So I tried to look up survivor, nothing, so then I looked up boat and it said, “To dream that you are in or see a boat, signifies your ability to cope with and express your emotions. Pay particular attention to the condition and state of the waters, whether it is calm or violent, clear or murky, etc. Are you “smooth sailing”? Alternatively, you may be ready to confront your unconscious and unknown aspects of yourself. The dream could be telling you not to rock the boat and to stay out of harm’s way.” 

Well I always rock the boat so hmmm, the waters were calm and very clear, gosh I hope it means that I’m ready to confront my unconscious and unknown aspects of me.  I can’t wait to meet the rest of me.

Calling all dream interpreters what does it mean to survive a plane crash in a huge body of water, I remember looking up and seeing the trap door, emergency exit and then floating on top of the water, then being in a rescue boat and seeing someone else from the plane, then being emotionally distraught.  

I mean right now I’m in Sudan, the program I’m working on is a mess, I have a lot of things to clean up and a lot of hardwork ahead of me, does this dream mean I’m going to make it; or am I just dreaming?  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

