I’m still here

I know I haven’t blogged for awhile, first it was because I can’t say anything about Sudan, because it’s politically sensitive and it is, then it was because I was working on my book, then it was because (insert excuse here). Well I finished writing my book, I think I’m on the third or fourth draft, just recently got two more rejections, but one was a really great rejection, the agent said,

“Tiana, alas I’m going to pass on this proposal. I’m not the agency for such
a book because I’m really cutting down on the workload at my age.  However, I
feel that you should write this story in an article for MORE magazine.   Get
published that way and you’ll attract a more hungry agent.  I stared in
publishing in 1973, my agency in 1991, and I am really tired.
Good luck, it’s a very good proposal.”
So now I’m trying to figure out what to write for MORE Magazine, I queried them once but no reponse. I forward the e-mail to my writing mentor, who always has good advice and she said I should try and write an article for MORE Magazine, but that it is also very important that I have an online prescence. Hence my resuscitation of my blog, it’s not dead yet! So I was trying to think about what would be helpful to write about, where I just wasn’t blabbing on about me. Don’t get me wrong, I can blab about me for forever, enough about you more about me. But what do I have to offer in the blogosphere, besides just letting my friends check and see if I’m still alive?

Me having ice cream with my colleagues after lunch in Khartoum one of the many things I was doing instead of blogging. Check out my hat, I'll talk about that in depth later when I discuss other non-writing lessons learned.

Well, right now I’m going to focus on the current process of trying to get published. And lessons learned during the journey, but this will also probably contain just lessons learned in general as I seem to learn a lot as I go.  So here’s the deal, I’m going to write on my blog at least twice a week regardless of what else is going on in my life–okay if I’m being evacuated there might be a delay. It’s not all going to be about writing, that would boring, besides, I live in Sudan, so I have to keep my friends appraised of some of the other stuff that goes on in my life.

But writing is a much safer topic than Sudan, so here we go. Stayed tuned tomorrow I will write about the things I wish I would have known before I started writing my memoir.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

