Want a job – there are three basic things you must do!

GetajobSince graduation season just finished and young people are on the prowl for jobs I thought it might be a good time for this column. When I’m not speaking, I help people with disabilities with employment. There are things basic things I see people that are barriers to employment. So these are the things you need to have and do if you are serious about finding a job.

1. Have a cell phone that you actually answer and return phone calls on in a timely manner. Jobs are going quickly, if you don’t answer your phone or call back soon, someone else is going to get the job.

2. Have an e-mail that isn’t something like “partyguy2013” that you check on at least a daily basis and that you reply to e-mails on. And when you receive an e-mail regarding an employment opportunity read it thoroughly and follow the instructions.

I get it you’re a millennial, you text. But hiring managers are Baby Boomers and Gen Xers we’re in our forties and we communicate primarily by e-mail. So because we are hiring you, you have to communicate how we communicate, which at this point is primarily e-mail.

3. Show up – It seems so simple, but lately a lot of people have made appointments with me and then they just don’t show up. So first of all they’ve missed the opportunity to participate in my employment event, but second I’m done with them. They have failed the most basic test, they can’t keep an appointment. How can I possibly recommend or put them in front of an employer as a candidate if they can’t even show up? I can’t.

My intern told me that people are just flakey these days and that it’s not just people with disabilities and I get that. But if you want my help, you have to at least be able to show up for the appointment that I have on my calendar with your name on it.

It may seem like I’m joking. I’m not. These are very simple things and yet I deal with people everyday who can’t, won’t or don’t do them. And they wonder why they can’t get a job.

If you aren’t doing these basic things then the next question you need to ask yourself is “Do I really want a job?”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Want a job – there are three basic things you must do!

  1. wes says:

    Not really helpful, more common sense then anything… Do I want a job?… but of course although even when these tactics are implemented, 83 other applicants are applying for it and I am left with continuously decreasing chances as employers pick names out of their hats at random. What advice do you have for the people that already applied to 100+ places?? We do exist. everyday is a fruitless endeavor to get employed in a corrupt world. Where is the miracle cure for the hundreds who thirst for employment and money to survive? Please enlighten us. Illuminate the situation to where relevancy pertains to everyone involved.

  2. tianatozer says:

    Hi Wes – Yes, it’s common sense, but do you know how many people don’t do it? A ton, that’s why I wrote the post, because I saw people who said they were looking for employment not doing these things. I saw it every day. Speak to any HR professional, people don’t do these basic things, plus they do a lot of other things that would astonish someone with even a modicum of common sense. If these things weren’t problems I wouldn’t have written it. So let me ask you a few questions? Do you do the basics, if I called you right now and you didn’t recognize my number, would you pick up the phone? Is the above e-mail the e-mail you use when applying for jobs? If so, you need to change it. Second are you networking? Do you meet with people for informational interviews to learn about the job market, do you go to career fairs, do you network with alums from your college, are you using your college career center, do you go to networking events. Nine out of the ten jobs I’ve had in my life are through networking. Do you belong to a professional organization? Have you signed up to work for a temp service? If you are freshly out of college are you applying for jobs that are appropriate or are you holding out for your dream job? Also if you are not getting interviews maybe it’s time for some professional resume help or a resume revision. Networking is important because more than 50% of jobs aren’t posted. In addition, it is meeting people in person that really puts you ahead of the competition.

    It’s a tough job market, employers are putting out ridiculous job descriptions, looking for someone who doesn’t exist, in Portland, young people are moving into the city without jobs and flooding the market. What advice do I have for people who have already applied for 100+ places? Get out from behind your computer, start networking, volunteer someplace you think you might want to work, do an internship, yes even if you aren’t directly out of college do an internship. Do informational interviews, meet people, the Department of Labor reports that 70 percent of jobs are found through networking.

    And finally, don’t post snarky responses to articles or anything on the internet. Every single interaction you have with someone in your career search should be professional. Your comment on my blog post was lacking in professionalism. It indicates that you are frustrated and you never want to convey frustration or anger in your job search. I’m happy to provide you with more in-depth advice, if I know a little more about your situation. And hopefully in 2016 I’ll be publishing my book “Your Mother Doesn’t Work Here, A Guide to taking personal responsibility for your job search and career,” which will go beyond the basics.

Leave a Reply

